So the rule is pretty clear, but I can't figure out why this is handled differently than any other miss.
9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the
wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the
option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the
wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the
option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.