Why do gaps in a rack cause balls not to break as well?

cuecademy

Registered
I've been playing pool for 7 years or so and it's pretty clear that having a tight rack is ideal for getting the best spread of the balls for just about any game (9 ball, 10 ball, 8 ball), but I never thought about why. The cue ball is applying the same force to the balls, they're just a tiny bit spread apart in 1 or 2 spots. I know I'm missing some conceptually obvious concept here, but I don't know what it is.

So I'm curious if anyone here knows exactly why having gaps in a rack result in a slug rack that doesn't break apart?

garczar

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I've been playing pool for 7 years or so and it's pretty clear that having a tight rack is ideal for getting the best spread of the balls for just about any game (9 ball, 10 ball, 8 ball), but I never thought about why. The cue ball is applying the same force to the balls, they're just a tiny bit spread apart in 1 or 2 spots. I know I'm missing some conceptually obvious concept here, but I don't know what it is.

So I'm curious if anyone here knows exactly why having gaps in a rack result in a slug rack that doesn't break apart?
That word, "tiny", is huge here. The transfer of energy is interrupted leading to funny results. The cue-ball is NOT applying same force when there are gaps. Gaps also create angles within the rack that completely changes the way they open up.

Last edited:

bbb

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
Short answer the forces are not spread evenly
Long answer buy joe tucker’s racking secrets
Well worth the money

JC

Coos Cues