Nothing. Anyway, I misread the OP and I thought it was a straightforward 10 ball rules question. My bad.
We've all been bad at one time or more too
:shrug:
Nothing. Anyway, I misread the OP and I thought it was a straightforward 10 ball rules question. My bad.
I don't think you'll find it written down anywhere, but if the spot is the called 8, and the player getting the spot pockets the 8-ball but doesn't call it, the 8-ball does not spot, but that player keeps his turn at the table. In the case you describe, as you fouled by not contacting the lowest ball first and you pocketed the 8-ball and you were the one getting the call 8-ball spot, it stays down and your opponent gets ball-in-hand. If your opponent had fouled and pocketed the 8-ball, only then would it have spotted back up and you'd have ball-in-hand.
So you would be ok with getting the 8 from a guy who shot the 8 in the hole on the first shot of every rack, and it didn't spot back up?
I wouldnt.
I see both side of the discussion, I went to the link that someone posted and this it what it said:
9.9 Spotting Balls
If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul or push out, or accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven
off the table, it is re-spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.
In this case I am getting the called 8, so wouldn't my 8 be just like the 10. Its just like me having two 10 balls, I don't know where these rules came from but they are confusing. I won the set and 2 more but I was just trying to get it right going forward. Thanks for all the comments.
Tom
The player giving the 8-ball spot would not be able to pocket the 8-ball at the start of every game unless it was on a legal hit - a combo or carom, which would be very hard to accomplish legally. If he spots it illegally on a bad hit, it would spot back up and the player getting the spot would have ball-in-hand.So you would be ok with getting the 8 from a guy who shot the 8 in the hole on the first shot of every rack, and it didn't spot back up?
I wouldnt.
I see both side of the discussion, I went to the link that someone posted and this it what it said:
9.9 Spotting Balls
If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul or push out, or accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven
off the table, it is re-spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.
In this case I am getting the called 8, so wouldn't my 8 be just like the 10. Its just like me having two 10 balls, I don't know where these rules came from but they are confusing. I won the set and 2 more but I was just trying to get it right going forward. Thanks for all the comments.
Tom
I see both side of the discussion, I went to the link that someone posted and this it what it said:
9.9 Spotting Balls
If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul or push out, or accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven
off the table, it is re-spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.
In this case I am getting the called 8, so wouldn't my 8 be just like the 10. Its just like me having two 10 balls, I don't know where these rules came from but they are confusing. I won the set and 2 more but I was just trying to get it right going forward. Thanks for all the comments.
Tom
If you start with wrong assumptions, you will end at bad conclusions.:grin:... in a sane world?
If you start with wrong assumptions, you will end at bad conclusions.:grin:
But I think
"All money balls illegally made are spotted. All handicap balls are money balls."is a clear, simple rule, which counts for a lot. Some might not like a few of the resulting calls, but you can't please everyone.