10 Ball Rules Question

I don't think you'll find it written down anywhere, but if the spot is the called 8, and the player getting the spot pockets the 8-ball but doesn't call it, the 8-ball does not spot, but that player keeps his turn at the table. In the case you describe, as you fouled by not contacting the lowest ball first and you pocketed the 8-ball and you were the one getting the call 8-ball spot, it stays down and your opponent gets ball-in-hand. If your opponent had fouled and pocketed the 8-ball, only then would it have spotted back up and you'd have ball-in-hand.

I would say the player loses his inning unless he made his called ball in addition to sh!tting the eight, or if his oppenent chooses to pass the table back.
 
So you would be ok with getting the 8 from a guy who shot the 8 in the hole on the first shot of every rack, and it didn't spot back up?

I wouldnt.

I mean, that's kind of interesting because it means he's changing the spot from the 8 to "I start every rack with ball in hand." I guess it depends how well I'm playing and how easy the table is, but I think I like that spot more than getting the 8. A player a little above my level should like it a lot more.
 
I see both side of the discussion, I went to the link that someone posted and this it what it said:

9.9 Spotting Balls

If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul or push out, or accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven
off the table, it is re-spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

In this case I am getting the called 8, so wouldn't my 8 be just like the 10. Its just like me having two 10 balls, I don't know where these rules came from but they are confusing. I won the set and 2 more but I was just trying to get it right going forward. Thanks for all the comments.
Tom
 
I see both side of the discussion, I went to the link that someone posted and this it what it said:

9.9 Spotting Balls

If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul or push out, or accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven
off the table, it is re-spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

In this case I am getting the called 8, so wouldn't my 8 be just like the 10. Its just like me having two 10 balls, I don't know where these rules came from but they are confusing. I won the set and 2 more but I was just trying to get it right going forward. Thanks for all the comments.
Tom

No. Your eight is not the same as the ten. If it were, there would be no reason for the nine and ten to ever be racked.
 
So you would be ok with getting the 8 from a guy who shot the 8 in the hole on the first shot of every rack, and it didn't spot back up?

I wouldnt.
The player giving the 8-ball spot would not be able to pocket the 8-ball at the start of every game unless it was on a legal hit - a combo or carom, which would be very hard to accomplish legally. If he spots it illegally on a bad hit, it would spot back up and the player getting the spot would have ball-in-hand.
 
I see both side of the discussion, I went to the link that someone posted and this it what it said:

9.9 Spotting Balls

If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul or push out, or accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven
off the table, it is re-spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

In this case I am getting the called 8, so wouldn't my 8 be just like the 10. Its just like me having two 10 balls, I don't know where these rules came from but they are confusing. I won the set and 2 more but I was just trying to get it right going forward. Thanks for all the comments.
Tom

I've been in a lot of action....and I've ran quite a few handicap nine ball tournaments.

All money balls illegally made are spotted....
....all handicap balls are money balls.

How else would it be in a sane world?
 
I see both side of the discussion, I went to the link that someone posted and this it what it said:

9.9 Spotting Balls

If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul or push out, or accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven
off the table, it is re-spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

In this case I am getting the called 8, so wouldn't my 8 be just like the 10. Its just like me having two 10 balls, I don't know where these rules came from but they are confusing. I won the set and 2 more but I was just trying to get it right going forward. Thanks for all the comments.
Tom

You're 8 isn't the same as the 10 because it isn't the money ball for both players. There is no written rule here that will answer the question. There is really no correct answer at all because it is a spot/gambling question and not a rules question. The only real answer is it has to be worked out between the 2 players hopefully before they play. Apparently since you kept playing and won you guys worked it out somehow.
 
... in a sane world?
If you start with wrong assumptions, you will end at bad conclusions.:grin:

But I think
"All money balls illegally made are spotted. All handicap balls are money balls."​
is a clear, simple rule, which counts for a lot. Some might not like a few of the resulting calls, but you can't please everyone.
 
If you start with wrong assumptions, you will end at bad conclusions.:grin:

But I think
"All money balls illegally made are spotted. All handicap balls are money balls."​
is a clear, simple rule, which counts for a lot. Some might not like a few of the resulting calls, but you can't please everyone.

Ah, but shouldn't rules have to assume conditions of sanity?

I understand that when the rubber hits the road, batshit crazy can be a problem....
....all the more reason a sane set of rules should rule.
 
We never worked it out, I don't sweat the small stuff after 72 years. I don't play for what I can't afford or don't let anyone high roll me. I love to play all games and the winnings is just icing on the cake.
Thanks for all the post.
Tom Harris
 
Back
Top