AzB Silver Member
Never been a question about her integrity, has there?
That said, if there is a referee, she should not be taking the ruling responsibility upon herself. She can't call a foul on her opponent, so the flip side is she can't call one on herself.
2 balls in hand. Deez.
I agree, if there is a ref then the ref should make all calls. Allison was just being honest and she shouldn't have had to say a word if the ref was doing his or her job.I applaud Allison's integrity, however, when a referee is presiding over a match, the referee needs to make the call. Allison had every right to turn to the ref and say that she believed that she may have fouled and ask the ref for a call. If the ref is unsure or didn't see it, I think they have to let it go.
These are things that have to be clear before the tournament starts. You can't just assign someone to preside over a match without discussing possible scenarios ahead of time.
I used to referee some of the major 14.1 and 9 Ball championships, and the rule of the day always was that if a ref is presiding over a match, the ref, and not the player has to make the call.
The only thing we have to do in this world is drop dead. Everything else is a choice that comes from within.
Disecting Allison's actions can only be made from the perception of our own individual "withins", not hers. The points are moot and irrelevant IMO.
Darren Appleton also called a foul on himself in the 2004 WPF 8 ball world final. Trailing 9-10 in a race to 11, he broke (and went in off) but called a 2 visit foul on himself, knowing it cost him the the title (the ref didn't see his cue hit another ball).
Good for Allison. But, at the same time, I find threads like this rather disturbing. How screwed up as a society are we that we find it noteworthy and exceptional when someone actually does the right thing?? When they do what is supposed to be the normal thing to do.