Another 8-ball rule challenge. Drop Pockets.

You shot down my last idea, good work. Now on to another scenario:

8-Ball. I am down to just the 8-ball. You have 3 balls on the table.

It is my shot, and you have me hooked badly, you are sure to get ball in hand and run out the game.

I take all the balls from the pockets and put them into one pocket, making sure that one of MY balls is on top. I smash my own ball, striking it back onto the table. Luckily the cueball also makes it's way back onto the table as well.

I declare that I made a legal hit because I hit my ball first, and it is your shot.

What is your reaction?
 
That makes almost as much sense as the guy I shot in league once who thought it was a legal shot to call nothing and then hit nothing. He honestly was going to let the other guy keep shooting...
 
PP, this situation is no different. As the shooter you are in violation of the rules and your opponent gets BIH. And since you deliberately filled the pocket before shooting, you have probably committed an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty as well.

Here is the rule:

8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket. If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is
taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.
 
Last edited:
What is the rule when your oponent leaves a ball in the jaws and walks away and it is your shot and just as you pull the trigger the object ball drops and the cue ball scratches in the pocket.
Let me know
 
What do you think it is?
If you can do it, so can your opponent.
Then you wouldn't need any cues, would you?
 
What is the rule when your oponent leaves a ball in the jaws and walks away and it is your shot and just as you pull the trigger the object ball drops and the cue ball scratches in the pocket.
Let me know

If an object ball spontaneously drops into the pocket while the cueball might have hit that object ball, all balls are replaced and the shooter may play the shot again.

WPA rule 1.7:
"1.7 Balls Settling
A ball may settle slightly after it appears to have stopped, possibly due to slight imperfections in the ball or the table. Unless this causes a ball to fall into a pocket, it is considered a normal hazard of play, and the ball will not be moved back. If a ball falls into a pocket as the result of such settling, it is restored as closely as possible to its original position. If a settling ball falls into a pocket during or just prior to a shot, and this has an effect on the shot, the referee will restore the position and the shot will be replayed. The shooter is not penalized for shooting while a ball is settling. See also 8.3 Ball Pocketed."
 
Like the other responder, I unscrew, and don't play with you anymore.

You know what you are doing is wrong, that's why you are posting to the forum, hoping someone will side with you to justify what you are doing.

You shot down my last idea, good work. Now on to another scenario:

8-Ball. I am down to just the 8-ball. You have 3 balls on the table.

It is my shot, and you have me hooked badly, you are sure to get ball in hand and run out the game.

I take all the balls from the pockets and put them into one pocket, making sure that one of MY balls is on top. I smash my own ball, striking it back onto the table. Luckily the cueball also makes it's way back onto the table as well.

I declare that I made a legal hit because I hit my ball first, and it is your shot.

What is your reaction?
 
I thought you would compliment me on my creativity.

If you are serious with these questions, and it is hard to imagine you are,
you obviously don't understand the rules. Firing the CB into the
pocket to bounce a made ball back onto the table does not change it
magically back to the status of playable. The OB would be returned to
the pocket. You may or may not have lost due to a foul while shooting at
the 8 ball.

Dale
 
Last edited:
PP, this situation is no different. As the shooter you are in violation of the rules and your opponent gets BIH. And since you deliberately filled the pocket before shooting, you have probably committed an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty as well.

Here is the rule:

8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket. If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is
taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.

Enough said.....


Another 2 minutes of life I can never get back....

Is winning at any cost important enough to try this chickenshit move???

It's so moronic I hardly feel like it can even be called a "move"

:cool:
 
I'm just trying to bring some creativity to the table.

No you're not. You can't possibly believe this question or the last one are anywhere near valid "rules" questions or concerning "creativity".

It ain't red repable yet...but you need to stop with this nonsense. Utter foolishness.

Unless you are 12 years old and new to the game of course...then please continue as needed
 
No you're not. You can't possibly believe this question or the last one are anywhere near valid "rules" questions or concerning "creativity".

It ain't red repable yet...but you need to stop with this nonsense. Utter foolishness.

Unless you are 12 years old and new to the game of course...then please continue as needed

And if you want to be technical about it, I just asked what your reaction would be. I never said I planned on doing this.
 
Does it seem like I want to get technical about it?

This is a waste of bandwith, good luck with the trolling for replies
 
Back
Top