Ball In Hand In Kitchen Shot Legal?

Along the same vein, what if I masse the cue ball out of the kitchen to the center of the table without hitting a rail, then the spin draws it back into the kitchen contacting and sinking my object ball that was in the kitchen?

That is what I think the rule is talking about in regards to the cb crossing the head string. Similar situation from barroom rules for 8 ball. Say if the 8 is hung in one of the pockets in the kitchen and you are coming to the table with bih in the kitchen, you can shoot at the 8, but you have to kick out of the kitchen and back in, ie long table kick, or with the cb in the kitchen, kicking to the long rail with inside and coming back to pocket the 8 etc.
 
The shot in question, as illustrated in the ghost ball diagram of the cue ball position at the point of contact, clearly confirms the cue ball "has not" crossed the line.
The cue ball must make contact after crossing the line and not while the cue ball is passing over the line...... in actuality, the rear portion of the cue ball partially sits
atop the head string line at the point of contact with the object ball. So as your eyes will confirm, the cue ball truly does not cross the head string line prior to making
contact with the object ball. If the shooter plays the shot using English and the cue ball strikes the rail beyond the head string line and reverse kicks back into the
kitchen pocketing the object ball, the played shot is a legal hit. However, in some pool games, it may or may not be necessary to declare the intended pocket for
the object ball in order for the shooter to retain control of the table. This is something you have to learn at the very outset if you want to play straight pool


Matt B.


8.13 : The position of a ball is determined by the projection of its center vertically downward onto the playing surface.
Yes......do that with the cue ball in the diagram which sits on top of the line and "never crosses" it prior to contacting the object ball.


6.11: When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string,
the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact.
If you say it loud enough, X = Not X. LOL
 
The shot in question, as illustrated in the ghost ball diagram of the cue ball position at the point of contact, clearly confirms the cue ball "has not" crossed the line.
The cue ball must make contact after crossing the line and not while the cue ball is passing over the line...... in actuality, the rear portion of the cue ball partially sits
atop the head string line at the point of contact with the object ball. So as your eyes will confirm, the cue ball truly does not cross the head string line prior to making
contact with the object ball. If the shooter plays the shot using English and the cue ball strikes the rail beyond the head string line and reverse kicks back into the
kitchen pocketing the object ball, the played shot is a legal hit. However, in some pool games, it may or may not be necessary to declare the intended pocket for
the object ball in order for the shooter to retain control of the table. This is something you have to learn at the very outset if you want to play straight pool


Matt B.


8.13 : The position of a ball is determined by the projection of its center vertically downward onto the playing surface.
Yes......do that with the cue ball in the diagram which sits on top of the line and "never crosses" it prior to contacting the object ball.


6.11: When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string,
the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact.......which physically impossible as diagrammed.

I agree with Matt, but since I retired I have a failure to communicate :smile:
 
That's what I've always thought too. But the rule I quoted above doesn't say anything about needing to hit a rail - only that the CB must cross the headstring. Does that rule need editing, or have we both misunderstood it all this time?

pj
chgo

The rule needs editing or clarification at the very least. It should also be defined based on the object ball not the cue ball. In one pocket the question comes up a lot whether to play by the center of the object ball of edge for whether or not it can be shot with bih behind the headstring.
 
The rule changed in 2008.

The shot is legal. The writer of the rule intended for it to be legal. The writer of the rule had this particular shot (along with other shots) in mind when he wrote the rule. I think the rules say the shot is legal.

It is also legal to shoot a masse shot out of the kitchen, reverse without hitting anything and come back to pocket a ball hanging in the jaws of a kitchen pocket.

A common return safe after a scratch at 14.1 is to play the cue ball just out of the kitchen and spin back off the side rail to end up frozen to the middle of the end rail. The shot is now legal even if you don't hit the cushion outside the kitchen as long as the cue ball has crossed the line on the shot. For example, you could swerve around the head spot.
 
The rule needs editing or clarification at the very least. It should also be defined based on the object ball not the cue ball. In one pocket the question comes up a lot whether to play by the center of the object ball of edge for whether or not it can be shot with bih behind the headstring.

At pool, the positions of the balls are always according to the center (base) of the ball.

It is unfortunate that one pocket players sometimes define the positions of the balls incorrectly.
 
The rule changed in 2008.

The shot is legal. The writer of the rule intended for it to be legal. The writer of the rule had this particular shot (along with other shots) in mind when he wrote the rule. I think the rules say the shot is legal.
Sure looks like it to me.

I guess it isn't a big difference either way, since you can also cut some balls in that are completely out of the kitchen and this only adds a few more possibilities than that. Just surprised me...

pj
chgo
 
Just when I'd thought I'd seen threads about everything pool-related, Patrick brings an idea I've never even considered. Great thread PJ. :)
 
The shot in question, as illustrated in the ghost ball diagram of the cue ball position at the point of contact, clearly confirms the cue ball "has not" crossed the line.
The cue ball must make contact after crossing the line and not while the cue ball is passing over the line...... in actuality, the rear portion of the cue ball partially sits
atop the head string line at the point of contact with the object ball.
Matt B.


You may want to look at the diagram again and then read the rules again. The center of the cue ball has passed the head string well before it hit the ball - thus according to the rules this is a perfectly legal shot.
 
If the base of the object ball is just out of the kitchen but part of it is in the kitchen, I can still shoot the object ball down to a corner pocket. In this case no part of the cue ball has crossed the line. Let's rethink....


The shot in question, as illustrated in the ghost ball diagram of the cue ball position at the point of contact, clearly confirms the cue ball "has not" crossed the line.
The cue ball must make contact after crossing the line and not while the cue ball is passing over the line...... in actuality, the rear portion of the cue ball partially sits
atop the head string line at the point of contact with the object ball. So as your eyes will confirm, the cue ball truly does not cross the head string line prior to making
contact with the object ball. If the shooter plays the shot using English and the cue ball strikes the rail beyond the head string line and reverse kicks back into the
kitchen pocketing the object ball, the played shot is a legal hit. However, in some pool games, it may or may not be necessary to declare the intended pocket for
the object ball in order for the shooter to retain control of the table. This is something you have to learn at the very outset if you want to play straight pool


Matt B.


8.13 : The position of a ball is determined by the projection of its center vertically downward onto the playing surface.
Yes......do that with the cue ball in the diagram which sits on top of the line and "never crosses" it prior to contacting the object ball.


6.11: When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string,
the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact.......which physically impossible as diagrammed.
 
The shot in question, as illustrated in the ghost ball diagram of the cue ball position at the point of contact, clearly confirms the cue ball "has not" crossed the line.
The cue ball must make contact after crossing the line and not while the cue ball is passing over the line...... in actuality, the rear portion of the cue ball partially sits
atop the head string line at the point of contact with the object ball. So as your eyes will confirm, the cue ball truly does not cross the head string line prior to making
contact with the object ball. If the shooter plays the shot using English and the cue ball strikes the rail beyond the head string line and reverse kicks back into the
kitchen pocketing the object ball, the played shot is a legal hit. However, in some pool games, it may or may not be necessary to declare the intended pocket for
the object ball in order for the shooter to retain control of the table. This is something you have to learn at the very outset if you want to play straight pool


Matt B.


8.13 : The position of a ball is determined by the projection of its center vertically downward onto the playing surface.
Yes......do that with the cue ball in the diagram which sits on top of the line and "never crosses" it prior to contacting the object ball.


6.11: When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string,
the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact.......which physically impossible as diagrammed.

It is most likely a bad idea and would sell out to the opponent but you could shoot one rail off the long rail and spin the cue ball back into the object ball. Not impossible but I can't envision a scenario where it would be a smart thing to do.
 
CSI's rules, which include the BCA pool league rules, specifically calls this shot a foul. First, it says the cue ball can hit another ball in the kitchen, but only if hits a cushion outside of the kitchen first.

OFFICIAL RULES OF CUESPORTS INTERNATIONAL
36
Shooting with Ball in Hand Behind the Head String
(AR p. 95)
1. When you have ball in hand behind the head string, it is a foul if the first ball
contacted by the cue ball is behind the head string unless, before contacting that ball, you
first shoot the cue ball past the head string and it contacts a cushion at a point below the
head string
.
2. It is a foul if, before contacting the first object ball, the first cushion contacted by the
cue ball is behind the head string.
3. When you have ball in hand behind the head string, it is a foul if you place the ball
outside of the kitchen and shoot.

Second, they also have an applied ruling (it's actually on page 96, not 95) that specifically diagrams the example in the first post, and says it is a foul.
 
Thanks BR....it's really just common sense and all you have to do is "literally" apply the rule as composed.

Tennessee.....if the base of the object ball lies outside the kitchen, then it's a legal shot because when the base
of an object ball is indeed "beyond" the head string imagined line............or a drawn line like on some table s which
would help illustrate the geographic boundaries of the head string.........then of course it's a playable shot....Geometry
dictates that the object ball cannot occupy two different positions, i.e., outside the line and inside the line.....it is or it isn't.


When you look at the spherical shape of the object ball, the curvature begins right after the apex point of contact by the cue ball
with the table surface because it's a perfect 360 degrees......anything you imagine to be the cue ball being both inside and beyond
the head string line simultaneously is simply an optical illusion.....maybe there's some fractional degree of cue ball surface area
that's in contact with the cloth before the curvature shape of the cue ball lifts itself off the table ...or head string line.......I suppose it
might be possible to place the cue ball in such a position where it could straddle the line and be even placed upon it but that is about
as close as you can get......and I'd argue then that the cue ball is still partially beyond the kitchen as much as it was in the kitchen and
therefore, would not be a legal shot.


Matt B.
 
Last edited:
be aware

Just to clarify some things:

For those who use the term “in the kitchen” or “kitchen line”; please, always remember this small detail:

WPA Standarized
8. Definitions Used in the Rules
8.1 Parts of the Table
(…) Behind the head string is the area between the head rail and the head string, not including the head string. (…)

It means that the ball "sitting" directly on the "kitchen line" is not "in the kitchen"

As to the Ruling on that kind of shot:
Bob Jewett in his posts #25 & #26 is 100% correct.
 
Last edited:
must say this

Good catch and I agree it can be interpreted that way, but sometimes you have to know what the intention of the rule is, and it isn't always stated --- it's sometimes implied. )...)

This is very correct, that is why there are Referee’s Courses; and these are precisely the very situations where the Referee's experience comes into play

:rolleyes: However, this statement: :rolleyes:

(...) The base of the ball rule is intended for balls standing still. It was never intended for balls in motion or things that can't be seen with the naked eye.

This is more like “freewheeling towards a cliff” ;) :p

Any Ruling must be executed according to what the Rules (or Regulations) define. Can you support the above with anything that can be found in the set of Rules ??? Or is it just your own imagination, ;) ooops, pardon me :p I should have just said: implication ??? ;)
 
Last edited:
This is very correct, that is why there are Referee’s Courses; and these are precisely the very situations where the Referee's experience comes into play

:rolleyes: However, this statement: :rolleyes:



This is more like “freewheeling towards a cliff” ;) :p

Any Ruling must be executed according to what the Rules (or Regulations) define. Can you support the above with anything that can be found in the set of Rules ??? Or is it just your own imagination, ;) ooops, pardon me :p I should have just said: implication ??? ;)

How do you determine where the base of the ball is at any given point if it is in motion? Of course that particular term was meant for balls that are not in motion. That term was meant for checking the cue ball when placing it, or for measuring a stationary ball to see if a particular shot is legal.
 
Last edited:
If the base of the object ball is just out of the kitchen but part of it is in the kitchen, I can still shoot the object ball down to a corner pocket. In this case no part of the cue ball has crossed the line. Let's rethink....

If you have bih behind the head string, the cue ball must pass the head string regardless of where the object ball is. Therefore in the instance you cited, with bih behind the head string, the shot would be illegal.
 
Last edited:
How do you determine where the base of the ball is at any given point if it is in motion?
I guess you'd have to determine it beforehand (by estimating the ghost ball position? I don't suppose you could use another out-of-play ball for that...).

What happens if it isn't declared one way or the other beforehand? Does the call go for or against the shooter?

pj
chgo
 
Back
Top