Gunnin' for a 3 pack!!
Hey Dave. I think the world needs a break down video. In your super duper slo mo.
If the cue ball is is contact with a rail and the object ball at the same time then it is in contact with the rail at some point in time after it initially contacted the object ball because the contact will last for that miniscule fraction of a second.the simultaneous hit rule refers to object balls being hit at the same time, not rail contact. i think.
Are you saying if both balls are frozen to the rail and each other, the shooter can shoot the cb at the lightest amount possible and it is a good hit?If the cue ball is is contact with a rail and the object ball at the same time then it is in contact with the rail at some point in time after it initially contacted the object ball because the contact will last for that miniscule fraction of a second.
Isn’t it also hard to tell it doesn’t touch. Whatever happened to tie goes to the runner. Call goes to the shooter. Shouldn’t there be direct evidence of a foul ? If it’s not detectable on the video replay then how can a foul be called ?Tough call here. First of all (and I've probably said this a million times) the referee MUST be in position to make the correct call here, and he obviously wasn't. This is the kind of shot you often see in billiards where the cue ball contacts the object ball near the rail and immediately touches the rail again, or MAYBE NOT! On this particular shot it is hard to see or even discern that the cue ball re-contacted the rail after hitting the three ball. In that case it is a foul.
Looks legal to me. Even though the 3 doesn't appear to move, the cueball drastically changes direction a spilt second BEFORE it hits the rail, indicating that it contacted the 3. It then hits the 3 a second time, and doesn't contact the rail again after.