forfeits

tonov12

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
In BCA leagues is it considered a concession of a match if during the course of said match you break down your cue? I swear that I've read that somewhere but can't seem to find it? Am I imagining things? Thanks:confused:
 
thanks

Thanks! I was looking on the bca site but couldn't find any mention of the rules regarding unsportsmanlike conduct. Rep to you sir! :grin:
 
In just about any league breaking down your cue is considered to be a concession.

But I know a girl who used to play on the Falcon Tour and she told me she was playing a league match once and broke down her break/jump cue to play a jump shot and her opponent immediately called victory by forfeit because she "broke down her cue". What a cheesy way to claim victory.

I would think a break/jump cue wouldn't count, but...
 
Last edited:
what about switching shafts

suppose you have more than one shaft... you miscue and the tip flies off.. do you lose the game for putting the other shaft on???:confused:
 
suppose you have more than one shaft... you miscue and the tip flies off.. do you lose the game for putting the other shaft on???:confused:

I would assume that if you were about to do that, you'd just say to your opponent something to the effect of "I'm only changing shafts, not unscrewing to put it away." If they agree, everyones cool. If they don't, you'd have to go to a higher authority for a ruling. I'd ask before hand. (Hopefully I'd think to do so.)

Just a guess.
 
how about walking away from the table, putting your cue in a cue rack?

I actually forgot my break cue one night, broke with a house cue. Walked over to the rack put my cue on it and proceeded to play with the house cue :embarrassed2:
 
It does say on the hill with your opponent shooting. But it also stipulates "your playing cue". Breaking down a jump or break cue would not apply according to the "wording" of the rule.
 
It does say on the hill with your opponent shooting. But it also stipulates "your playing cue". Breaking down a jump or break cue would not apply according to the "wording" of the rule.

These in red are what determines this. Breaking down any other cue WHILE your opponent is shooting is deemed unsportsmanlike and would receive a warning.

If you want to switch a shaft or take apart your break/break jump cue for what ever reason, do it on YOUR turn at the table.

Basically, use common sense and don't be a jack-ass.
 
Changing shafts / messing with a break cue is not a forefit unless it's done during the opponents turn. I hope whoever was on the Falcon tour did not let that one slide, and the ref or whoever was in charge actually used their head.

What really gets me is when someone holds their cue in their hands the whole rack you are shooting, then when you get down to the last ball, they decide to move it to the holder, chair side/whatever and lean forward as if to get up.

I usually stop then and ask if they are conceding the last ball.
 
It's the same rule in APA.

Kim

Are you sure about that? One of my teammates did this in the playoff match. The other team called it on him. I agreed that it was a concession and we lose the playoffs by the four points more he would have received. So one of my PO'd teammates swears that is not in the APA rules. That it would be considered "unsportsmanlike" and bad form but not a loss.

Does anyone know for sure?
 
Are you sure about that? One of my teammates did this in the playoff match. The other team called it on him. I agreed that it was a concession and we lose the playoffs by the four points more he would have received. So one of my PO'd teammates swears that is not in the APA rules. That it would be considered "unsportsmanlike" and bad form but not a loss.

Does anyone know for sure?

Reasonably sure. Don't have my rulebook handy. Maybe it's in my local bylaws book.

If the answer doesn't present itself shortly I'll look it up later.

*** UPDATE *** Couldn't find it in the APA Team manual online. It is mentioned in our local bylaws, so that is where I remember it from, regarding APA.
 
Last edited:
suppose you have more than one shaft... you miscue and the tip flies off.. do you lose the game for putting the other shaft on???:confused:

Pretty simple. You tell your opponent that your tip flew off and you need to change shafts. This is allowed.

The rule is there to protect the opponent from being sharked by someone unscrewing their cue while they are in the act of shooting.
 
Changing shafts / messing with a break cue is not a forefit unless it's done during the opponents turn. I hope whoever was on the Falcon tour did not let that one slide, and the ref or whoever was in charge actually used their head.

What really gets me is when someone holds their cue in their hands the whole rack you are shooting, then when you get down to the last ball, they decide to move it to the holder, chair side/whatever and lean forward as if to get up.

I usually stop then and ask if they are conceding the last ball.

This is the situation I was talking about when I asked about the opponent leaving the table area and putting thier cue away.
 
Back
Top