I would think no foul, but if he did it all the time I might say something about it. Pretty good shark move though. :wink:. Johnnyt
I hope I can describe this adequately:
A player is trying to plan out the CB position (leave) on his shot. Often times you'll see players touch their tip to the spot on which they intend to leave the CB.
But this player put a chalk cube on the spot and then walked back to the aim line to think about his english/speed/etc. I want to emphasize that he picked up the chalk cube and returned it to rail before taking his shot -- he just used it as a visual aid in planning his shot. (it was not like marking a bank/kick spot with a chalk cube where a player shoots at the cube).
Does that fall under "not intended use of equipment"?
I wouldn't call him on it anyway because I'm glad that he's even thinking about position (most of the players in my crowd don't). But it did get me curious about its legality.
1. People don't think it's a foul
2. Someone shows the rule in the rule book
3. Some people don't think it should be a rule and would never call it because its chicken poop.
4.Someone says it's no longer in the rule book but doesn't show where it's been deleted.
No matter what game you are playing , there have to be rules.
Unless you don't mind that cheaters always win .
So far the BCA rulebook has been a big part of our national rules.
We also have the onepocket.org rules Gradys Rules and some others .
Pick one and play by them!
Joe Bob in Arkansas {even though he hasn't missed a ball since 1973} should not be changing rules to suit his ideals.
Neither should Sir Robert Fitzroy who owns 20 Balabushkas and 3 poolrooms and a yacht.
The rules are made by a committee, if we don't like them , there should be a way for everyone to vote on all rules individually once every couple of years. That would allow for needed changes but not a bunch of frivolous seesaw.
I have been to lots of tournaments and even a lot of the top players in the world don't know all the rules.
They know the rules they gamble by , but the tournament director changed some of those ????
I hope I can describe this adequately:
A player is trying to plan out the CB position (leave) on his shot. Often times you'll see players touch their tip to the spot on which they intend to leave the CB.
But this player put a chalk cube on the spot and then walked back to the aim line to think about his english/speed/etc. I want to emphasize that he picked up the chalk cube and returned it to rail before taking his shot -- he just used it as a visual aid in planning his shot. (it was not like marking a bank/kick spot with a chalk cube where a player shoots at the cube).
Does that fall under "not intended use of equipment"?
I wouldn't call him on it anyway because I'm glad that he's even thinking about position (most of the players in my crowd don't). But it did get me curious about its legality.
Rules say you can use chalk on rail as aiming locator..that in itself is unethical to me.
Nothing can be placed on the field however. No chalk marks. No using a pocketed ball to judge the distance of a ball off the rail. No laying a stick on table to look at a nukes unless you are touching the stick.
Really? In which rules? I have never heard that you can leave chalk around the rail to mark a hit point. Of course if you just happen to place it there normally, by accident of course, you know, wink wink, no-one will possibly know. Unless you squint a bit and line it up to the ball before placing it![]()
We often see pros touch their cue tip to the spot where they want to leave the CB. The tip has chalk on it.
Can't it be said that they're actually marking the playing surface? That's definitely a foul, yet I've never seen it called in a pro tournament.
Really? In which rules? I have never heard that you can leave chalk around the rail to mark a hit point. Of course if you just happen to place it there normally, by accident of course, you know, wink wink, no-one will possibly know. Unless you squint a bit and line it up to the ball before placing it![]()
He marked the table with chalk for figuring out where to get position? That's 100% a foul.
Read my previous post. It is out of APA rulebook.
I hope I can describe this adequately:
A player is trying to plan out the CB position (leave) on his shot. Often times you'll see players touch their tip to the spot on which they intend to leave the CB.
But this player put a chalk cube on the spot and then walked back to the aim line to think about his english/speed/etc. I want to emphasize that he picked up the chalk cube and returned it to rail before taking his shot -- he just used it as a visual aid in planning his shot. (it was not like marking a bank/kick spot with a chalk cube where a player shoots at the cube).
Does that fall under "not intended use of equipment"?
I wouldn't call him on it anyway because I'm glad that he's even thinking about position (most of the players in my crowd don't). But it did get me curious about its legality.
I don't believe it to be a foul since it was removed prior to the shot.
BUT, if it IS in the rule book for some reason, I would say that anyone who calls a foul on this is completely ridiculous, and is trying to win matches on rule technicalities instead of actually trying to win through their own ability.
I don't believe it to be a foul since it was removed prior to the shot.
BUT, if it IS in the rule book for some reason, I would say that anyone who calls a foul on this is completely ridiculous, and is trying to win matches on rule technicalities instead of actually trying to win through their own ability.