*** Mosconi Cup 2015 Updates Thread ***

Skyler needs to eat some vitamines or something, he's skin looks grey.
Not the even competition I had hoped for so far.
 
Karl very carefully placed the ball in that gap, controlling his nerves to ensure he did not touch an object ball, and Ken called a foul because Karl placed the cueball where he wanted to place it with ball in hand.

After Ken realizes he screwed up he then tells Karl that Karl now need to carefully grab the cueball out of that gap, and then re-place it in the gap yet again, without touching an object ball or it is going to be a foul.

Karl had a reason to be pissed off about that. In the removal of the cueball and re-placement of it back into that gap Ken absolutely would have called a foul if Karl accidently touched a ball placing the cueball into that gap for the second time.

That was amateur hour referee work right there from start to finish.

This. It's hilarious seeing people criticise Boyes for that mess.

Except Ken told him that he would pick the CB up for him.

Oh, that's alright then.
 
That was "after" Ken told Karl to pick it up and Karl flat out told him he did not want to. Only then did Ken say "I will pick it up for you".

It was ridiculous. Ken had mistakenly called a foul, so why should Boyes have to pick it back up? Especially when there's no rule that you have to pick up the cue ball and put it back down even after a real foul. Ken was a terrible ref in that match, and Boyes did nothing wrong.
 
Mike D goes for the high five after the win and SVB leaves him hanging...
 
Except Ken told him that he would pick the CB up for him.

Ken is getting harshly berated for a mistaken judgement of a situation that might never occur during the reffing career of many referees. He assumed that Karl was using the cueball as a measuring device and by doing so he WAS committing a foul. But when he discovered that GWAPO was legitimately placing the BIH where he wanted to play it from as his next shot then he changed his decision (but only because it was the right thing to do) and the way that Boyes executed the shot confirmed that. Many players do not realise these infrequently invoked rules. I once saw Rodney Morris place a rest (rake) on the table and then place his cue on top of it. He then walked to the other end of the table and looked at the equipment that he had placed there. The referee called foul because he considered the player was using the accessories as a 'measuring device'. This was in a World 9 Ball Championship and it cost Rodney the match. He almost certainly wasn't using the trick to cheat the rules but the referee was of the opinion that this might be a possibilty and made the call accordingly
 
Back
Top