The reason I ask is because I was watching the TAR Challenge match between SVB and Alex that was played in May of 2008. At the beginning the commentators only said they were playing "international 10 Ball rules". I take this to mean WPA rules.
In the 10th rack, with Alex ahead 5-4, SVB definitely slops in the 1 ball, yet he continued shooting. As a matter of fact, on this same shot the 10 ball is slopping towards an upper corner pocket and the announcers only made mention that the 10 ball may go without any comment that it wouldn't have counted. Clearly it seems they were playing "Texas Express" 10 Ball or in other words, 10 Ball with 9 ball rules. I'm about 2 1/2 hours into the DVD's and not once that I can think of has an option to give the table back (other than on a push-out) been exercised and there have definitely been missed shots that left the incoming player hooked.
This got me to wondering if the 10 Ball rules were amended to call shot more recently than I thought.
Thanks.
In the 10th rack, with Alex ahead 5-4, SVB definitely slops in the 1 ball, yet he continued shooting. As a matter of fact, on this same shot the 10 ball is slopping towards an upper corner pocket and the announcers only made mention that the 10 ball may go without any comment that it wouldn't have counted. Clearly it seems they were playing "Texas Express" 10 Ball or in other words, 10 Ball with 9 ball rules. I'm about 2 1/2 hours into the DVD's and not once that I can think of has an option to give the table back (other than on a push-out) been exercised and there have definitely been missed shots that left the incoming player hooked.
This got me to wondering if the 10 Ball rules were amended to call shot more recently than I thought.
Thanks.