Rule question

Magyar19

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I was just told that if the CB and an OB are frozen, those balls are considered one in the same and a different OB must be hit besides the frozen one (and then of course any ball hit a rail) for it to be a legal shot. I have never heard this before but the guy insisted its the rule. I asked what happens if the final ball is glued to the cue ball and he said you'd have to kick at it to be a legal hit.
 
I was just told that if the CB and an OB are frozen, those balls are considered one in the same and a different OB must be hit besides the frozen one (and then of course any ball hit a rail) for it to be a legal shot. I have never heard this before but the guy insisted its the rule. I asked what happens if the final ball is glued to the cue ball and he said you'd have to kick at it to be a legal hit.
False. All you have to do is make the OB move by not shooting entirely away from it.

A related rule: you can legally stroke straight through the frozen balls (no angle required - no double hit or push).

pj
chgo
 
Patrick Johnson nailed it. I wonder whether our original poster comes from a snooker background. In snooker, the rules are quite different in a "touching ball" situation.
 
In snooker, the rules are quite different in a "touching ball" situation.
Yes, I think you have to shoot away from the frozen OB in that situation - and it's counted as a "hit".

Go figger.

pj <- and they don't speak proper 'Murcan...
chgo
 
I was just told that if the CB and an OB are frozen, those balls are considered one in the same and a different OB must be hit besides the frozen one (and then of course any ball hit a rail) for it to be a legal shot. I have never heard this before but the guy insisted its the rule. I asked what happens if the final ball is glued to the cue ball and he said you'd have to kick at it to be a legal hit.
That player is obviously showing his ignorance - that’s all I’ll say about that.
 
That is a good example of what is legal by the rules sometimes being different from what "local" rules are. The guy you played probably got that from somebody else.
 
Patrick Johnson nailed it. I wonder whether our original poster comes from a snooker background. In snooker, the rules are quite different in a "touching ball" situation.

I thought the same thing, the guy was a snooker player, there you can shoot away and have it be a legal contact but I don't think there is a rule there that you need to strike another ball after doing that.

I'd guess it's just some guy repeating what some other guy that did not know the rules told him. My uncle that plays in bars told my dad and my dad told me one time, that type of thing. I still cringe whenever I hear a group of people explain rules that are made up to each other, and there is usually one that "knows" the rules better that is loudly explaining that you can "hit 3 banks" and it's not a foul if you miss your ball LOL Soon as I hear the word "banks" or "sides" I know something good is coming out of their mouths LOL
 
Was he playing by those concrete, never in question, universally accepted.........BAR RULES???
Hahaha
 
Shooting away from the frozen ball IS NOT A HIT

Kim

Read the whole thread. They were referring to snooker rules. Unless you are saying that's not a legal hit in snooker.

As for the OP, there is no rule like that in any of the leagues I've played in.
 
Last edited:
In case you want to be prepared for the next time you play that guy, here are the rules:

https://wpapool.com/rules-of-play/

And here are the "regulations" which include how the rules are applied in practice:

https://wpapool.com/rule-regulations/

And if he's not the reading sort, just tell him to watch this video:

FOULS IN POOL … Everything You Need to Know
I vote for doing both.

Here's the relevant rule from their downloadable PDF (available at the link Bob posted above).

pj
chgo

rule1.JPG
 
Back
Top