Under this rule the object ball can be barely in the kitchen and the cue ball can barely cross the line and still hit that object ball. This is a good hit if a rail is contacted after the balls contact each other.
Ughhhh... no.
An Object Ball that is in Balk - did I mention the kitchen is where one cooks -
is IN BALK, full stop. If the CB does not contact another OB or a rail past the headstring first,
the shot is a foul.
Dale
pdcue, what Tennesseejoe said is correct (WPA rules):
"6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String
When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string, the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact."
So the OB can be behind the head string (because its base is behind the head string) but with part of the ball sticking over the head string. The CB can then be placed just behind the head string and shot across the head string to contact the OB. The OB can actually be cut into a head-rail pocket sometimes in this situation. Of course the situation will require careful refereeing to be sure the CB crossed the line before the contact.
And the OB need not even be hanging over the head string. The CB could be masséd, going across the line and coming back to contact the OB.
As Tennesseejoe pointed out, a rail must be contacted after the CB and OB collide (in both of the situations I mentioned) to avoid a foul.