What happens here?

7forlife

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
So this crossed my mind the other day.
Let's say you're playing and your opponent commits a minor foul like just barely touching a ball when he shoots say jacked up or something but totally screws himself calls the foul on himself seeing that he's screwed so you go "it's ok go ahead" but (and here's the question) he goes "nah it's ok, i fouled" what happens now?
What if your opponent doesn't want to take the pass that you gave him? Or hell what if it's the other way around?
 
If an opponent calls a foul on himself and insists after I tell him it's okay, then I let him take the foul. Simple.
 
So this crossed my mind the other day.
Let's say you're playing and your opponent commits a minor foul like just barely touching a ball when he shoots say jacked up or something but totally screws himself calls the foul on himself seeing that he's screwed so you go "it's ok go ahead" but (and here's the question) he goes "nah it's ok, i fouled" what happens now?
What if your opponent doesn't want to take the pass that you gave him? Or hell what if it's the other way around?

I would take ball in hand and go...

assuming rotation.
 
Last edited:
I would take ball in hand and go...

assuming rotation.

chicken ball in hand being an option i can't think of anyone that would pass on the foul or turn down the option to stay at the table. I'm thinking like 14.1 or something like that where whoever is shooting shots from where it is.
 
Commited that foul and called it on myself

So this crossed my mind the other day.
Let's say you're playing and your opponent commits a minor foul like just barely touching a ball when he shoots say jacked up or something but totally screws himself calls the foul on himself seeing that he's screwed so you go "it's ok go ahead" but (and here's the question) he goes "nah it's ok, i fouled" what happens now?
What if your opponent doesn't want to take the pass that you gave him? Or hell what if it's the other way around?


I play pool for fun, loosing normally doesn't trip my trigger.
But If I make a foul, I am calling it on myself ............. in competition or a friendly fun game with my best of friends...

I have touched other or moved balls by mistake , foul in some rules in others the person you are playing can move the balls that were moved back to where he or she thinks they were .

Or the your opponent can have the player who moved them back to where they think they were .
All depends on the rules you are using.
If the rules say its a foul regardless if you like it or not its your shot ball in hand .

There is nothing better then honest games of pool , and nothing worse then dishonest pool players .
Everyone should follow all the rules they use to the letter.

I play for fun, poor sportsmanship destroys a good game of pool.
 
Last edited:
... I'm thinking like 14.1 or something like that where whoever is shooting shots from where it is.
At 14.1 there is no problem. Take a foul in return, just tapping the cue ball, assuming you have no offensive shot. Try to leave him stuck even worse over a ball. At one pocket there is nearly always something to do from that situation that may or may not be a foul.
 
At 14.1 there is no problem. Take a foul in return, just tapping the cue ball, assuming you have no offensive shot. Try to leave him stuck even worse over a ball. At one pocket there is nearly always something to do from that situation that may or may not be a foul.

Sometimes you can't let a player call a foul on himself.

One-pocket at the Rack....late 70s
...a player is in a trap...he's got 4 balls, the other guy has 3....
...he messes up the escape...leaving his opponent an easy five and out...
.......but he leaves the cue ball almost on the spot...
...he says "I double hit whitey."....reaches to spot a one of his balls...
...which would've froze on the cue ball.

his opponent says "Oh no you don't."
 
If he thinks hes slick, coz he is going to make YOU disturb balls, giving him som advantage compared to HIM disturbing the same balls...

Thats what the 3foul rule is for.

He aint that slick.
 
foul results

Hi

Maybe I'm missing something or don't know the correct rules.

A foul in 14-1 is loss of a point; such as if you strike any object ball but no rail is hit afterwards by either cue or any other ball; cue stays where it lies, deduct one point from shooter and next player shoots.

In either 8 or 9 ball, it is ball in hand.

I don't play one pocket or 10 ball so please let me know what happens.

I've offered to forego a simple foul in 14-1 where the foul was just touching another ball with clothing, cue as he set-up shot, or moving another ball a fraction after contacting object ball with cue ball. Most guys say thanks and continue; usually not wanting to give up the point.

Somewhat puzzled

Thanks
Dave
 
Hi

Maybe I'm missing something or don't know the correct rules.

A foul in 14-1 is loss of a point; such as if you strike any object ball but no rail is hit afterwards by either cue or any other ball; cue stays where it lies, deduct one point from shooter and next player shoots.

In either 8 or 9 ball, it is ball in hand.

I don't play one pocket or 10 ball so please let me know what happens.

I've offered to forego a simple foul in 14-1 where the foul was just touching another ball with clothing, cue as he set-up shot, or moving another ball a fraction after contacting object ball with cue ball. Most guys say thanks and continue; usually not wanting to give up the point.

Somewhat puzzled

Thanks
Dave
At 14.1 some people play "all fouls" so touching an object ball accidentally is a foul and you lose your turn and a point. Some play "cue ball fouls" only. It's good to decide before you start your match which way you're going to play, not at the time of the first foul. I think all fouls is the best way to play.

Some who play "cue ball fouls" only also play that if you disturb two or more balls it is a foul. That is the way a lot of one pocket is played.

If you are playing cue ball fouls only, it is up to the non-shooter whether the moved object ball goes back to it's original place. The shooter must never, ever reach out unprompted and put the moved ball back on his own. That is a foul.
 
At 14.1 some people play "all fouls" so touching an object ball accidentally is a foul and you lose your turn and a point. Some play "cue ball fouls" only. It's good to decide before you start your match which way you're going to play, not at the time of the first foul. I think all fouls is the best way to play.

Some who play "cue ball fouls" only also play that if you disturb two or more balls it is a foul. That is the way a lot of one pocket is played.

If you are playing cue ball fouls only, it is up to the non-shooter whether the moved object ball goes back to it's original place. The shooter must never, ever reach out unprompted and put the moved ball back on his own. That is a foul.

That is a lotta information. Is it ok to :grin-square:give it away for free?
 
Sometimes you can't let a player call a foul on himself.

One-pocket at the Rack....late 70s
...a player is in a trap...he's got 4 balls, the other guy has 3....
...he messes up the escape...leaving his opponent an easy five and out...
.......but he leaves the cue ball almost on the spot...
...he says "I double hit whitey."....reaches to spot a one of his balls...
...which would've froze on the cue ball.

his opponent says "Oh no you don't."

Funny. I had the same thing happen a number of years back when playing Hollywood Jack some 1 pocket. I did foul and called it on myself and went to spot a ball. Jack said "No FOUL". I said I did foul. He said "You can't call a foul on yourself unless I agree it is a foul". I said OK. Then I noticed he had an easy runout which would be blocked if the ball had been spotted.

Lesson learned "it is not a foul if your opponent calls it on himself unless you agree it was a foul". Very rare that it is to your advantage to not call the foul and probably only in 1 pocket.
 
If he thinks hes slick, coz he is going to make YOU disturb balls, giving him som advantage compared to HIM disturbing the same balls...

Thats what the 3foul rule is for.

He aint that slick.

ha, that's what i'm talking about Black. I was thinking imaging this as a skit with like the 3 stooges where both guys are going "no you go, no you go, no insist you go, no i fouled so you go"
but on a serious not i was wonder if there was some rule that states that one person "has too" accept the out come, being allowing a pass and the fouling person now has to shoot or if the fouling person says "no thanks, i fouled" (albeit minor but observed by both players) and now the next player has to come in.
 
Funny. I had the same thing happen a number of years back when playing Hollywood Jack some 1 pocket. I did foul and called it on myself and went to spot a ball. Jack said "No FOUL". I said I did foul. He said "You can't call a foul on yourself unless I agree it is a foul". I said OK. Then I noticed he had an easy runout which would be blocked if the ball had been spotted.

Lesson learned "it is not a foul if your opponent calls it on himself unless you agree it was a foul". Very rare that it is to your advantage to not call the foul and probably only in 1 pocket.
Well, if I don't get to a cushion, I think it's a foul whether my opponent agrees or not. There is the famous case where Efren was corner-hooked in the jaws of his own pocket and his opponent had a ball close to his and needed one. Efren lagged the cue ball onto the foot spot and spotted a ball up.
 
I played a tournament on Saturday where they said there would be no 3 foul to lose.
made it known that if there was no 3 foul, if the situation arose where a stalemate was occurring, Acoin would be flipped and the game restarted.

It did come up. I broke the balls.
 
If you are playing cue ball fouls only, it is up to the non-shooter whether the moved object ball goes back to it's original place. The shooter must never, ever reach out unprompted and put the moved ball back on his own. That is a foul.

Bob,

In a all ball foul situation, what happens to the inadvertently moved ball? (a) Does the referee have to replace it where it was, (b) does it remain where it lies or (c) does the non-shooter get to elect?

Option (b) could give rise to significant mischief, so I hope that's not the rule.
 
Bob,

In a all ball foul situation, what happens to the inadvertently moved ball? (a) Does the referee have to replace it where it was, (b) does it remain where it lies or (c) does the non-shooter get to elect?

Option (b) could give rise to significant mischief, so I hope that's not the rule.
The WSR are not explicit on this. I think balls disturbed by the player are not replaced and those disturbed by an external source are replaced. The BCAPL/CSI rules say more about disturbed-ball situations.
 
Back
Top