What's The Rule?

railrider

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Playing in a tournament Saturday and this happened: Playing 9-ball and I break and make the 1 ball on the break and the 2 ball is in the jaws of the corner pocket and I have no shot so I call push and I shoot the 6 ball into the 2 ball and pocket the 2 ball. My opponent doesn't say a word and proceeds to shoot at the 3 ball. Well I win the game. After the game my opponent says that I fouled when i pushed the 6 into the 2 ball and made it.
So I disagree and the TD says It was a foul and I lose that game. I didn't argue because I was not real sure about the rule. So what is the rule on a push shot? Thanks in advance for the responses!!
 
totally not a foul. you can pocket any ball on a push shot. if it's the nine, it spots.

-s
 
Playing in a tournament Saturday and this happened: Playing 9-ball and I break and make the 1 ball on the break and the 2 ball is in the jaws of the corner pocket and I have no shot so I call push and I shoot the 6 ball into the 2 ball and pocket the 2 ball. My opponent doesn't say a word and proceeds to shoot at the 3 ball. Well I win the game. After the game my opponent says that I fouled when i pushed the 6 into the 2 ball and made it.
So I disagree and the TD says It was a foul and I lose that game. I didn't argue because I was not real sure about the rule. So what is the rule on a push shot? Thanks in advance for the responses!!

On a push shot, assuming you address the cueball legally and you don't pocket the cueball or drive it off the table, you may do anything you like. If you pocket any ball, it stays down and your opponent has the option to shoot or make you shoot. If you pocket the 9, it's spotted on the foot-spot and your opponent maintains the option to shoot.
 
That is fine. It's tough to push when a ball is hanging and I've seen pros do the same shot in multiple occasions.
 
No offense, but it sounds like the tournament director is a beginner?

1. As stated, you may legally pocket any ball on a push (9 spots)
2. After the shot in question is over with, and a following shot is taken, its too late to make a ruling (even if it was a foul).
3. How does your tournament director give you a loss of game on a shot that according to his ruleset is a foul?

Now, if there are specific "house rules", that could cahnge things. But those house rules go against the standardized rules in play today.
 
Playing in a tournament Saturday and this happened: Playing 9-ball and I break and make the 1 ball on the break and the 2 ball is in the jaws of the corner pocket and I have no shot so I call push and I shoot the 6 ball into the 2 ball and pocket the 2 ball. My opponent doesn't say a word and proceeds to shoot at the 3 ball. Well I win the game. After the game my opponent says that I fouled when i pushed the 6 into the 2 ball and made it.
So I disagree and the TD says It was a foul and I lose that game. I didn't argue because I was not real sure about the rule. So what is the rule on a push shot? Thanks in advance for the responses!!

You got shafted!!!

Geez, why is this rule so frikkin' hard for people to understand? The TD should have his nutz boiled in oil for ruling it a foul.

Maniac
 
Too Late

Like Rrich1 said, game over too late. If he had an issue or knew it was a foul (its not), why didnt he address it then and request the TD to rule at that time. At worst, maybe replay the game but you wouldnt just lose. I had an issue in a US Am qualifier where a guy on another table ran me over while I was pulling the trigger. Missed the shot. Got a ruling immediately because that is the only time to do it. Hopefully that didnt knock you out.
 
Playing in a tournament Saturday and this happened: Playing 9-ball and I break and make the 1 ball on the break and the 2 ball is in the jaws of the corner pocket and I have no shot so I call push and I shoot the 6 ball into the 2 ball and pocket the 2 ball. My opponent doesn't say a word and proceeds to shoot at the 3 ball. Well I win the game. After the game my opponent says that I fouled when i pushed the 6 into the 2 ball and made it.
So I disagree and the TD says It was a foul and I lose that game. I didn't argue because I was not real sure about the rule. So what is the rule on a push shot? Thanks in advance for the responses!!

When you say "I shoot the 6 ball into the 2 ball and pocket the 2 ball" I assume you don't mean that you used the 6 ball as if it were the cueball and just shot the 6 directly into the 2, correct?
 
In any tournament ive played in you can push but if you strike an object ball that is not the lowest number ball on the table you did foul and it should have been ball in hand for your opponent.
 
In any tournament ive played in you can push but if you strike an object ball that is not the lowest number ball on the table you did foul and it should have been ball in hand for your opponent.

never heard this rule.
 
Really??? :rolleyes:

I've seen it happen. I think I told the story here on AZ. League 9-ball. Beginner. Nerves full of spiders and clowns. Lined up a combination that we all thought she was just eyeballing but she stroked forward and hit the object ball like it was the cueball .

I'd say it was the craziest thing I'd ever saw in this game, but it wasn't.

Freddie <~~~ and she didn't make the ball but managed to rearrange everything on the table
 
never heard this rule.
Let's, for argument sake, say it really is a foul. The ability to call a foul is over once the incoming player plays a shot. A foul cant be called after the fact. If that was the case, then every time a foul is committed then I will just wait to see if I win the game. If I lose the game, I will call a foul afterwards and get the game forfeited to me. Sorry, but your TD is an idiot.

And quadRary, if those are the rules you play by, I don't want to know the rest of them. You can hit any ball, to anywhere and play it in to any ball and it isn't a foul.
 
You got shafted!!!

Geez, why is this rule so frikkin' hard for people to understand? The TD should have his nutz boiled in oil for ruling it a foul.Maniac

And the cut them off for reversing the win after the game.

L8R...Ken
 
Let's, for argument sake, say it really is a foul. The ability to call a foul is over once the incoming player plays a shot. A foul cant be called after the fact. If that was the case, then every time a foul is committed then I will just wait to see if I win the game. If I lose the game, I will call a foul afterwards and get the game forfeited to me. Sorry, but your TD is an idiot.

I'm surprised it took so long for someone to mention this.
 
I've seen it happen. I think I told the story here on AZ. League 9-ball. Beginner. Nerves full of spiders and clowns. Lined up a combination that we all thought she was just eyeballing but she stroked forward and hit the object ball like it was the cueball .

I'd say it was the craziest thing I'd ever saw in this game, but it wasn't.

Freddie <~~~ and she didn't make the ball but managed to rearrange everything on the table

That is different
 
In any tournament ive played in you can push but if you strike an object ball that is not the lowest number ball on the table you did foul and it should have been ball in hand for your opponent.

I also have never heard of a rule like this. On a push out you may do anything you want. Sounds made up to me.
 
Playing in a tournament Saturday and this happened: Playing 9-ball and I break and make the 1 ball on the break and the 2 ball is in the jaws of the corner pocket and I have no shot so I call push and I shoot the 6 ball into the 2 ball and pocket the 2 ball. My opponent doesn't say a word and proceeds to shoot at the 3 ball. Well I win the game. After the game my opponent says that I fouled when i pushed the 6 into the 2 ball and made it.
So I disagree and the TD says It was a foul and I lose that game. I didn't argue because I was not real sure about the rule. So what is the rule on a push shot? Thanks in advance for the responses!!

There are two issues here.

A. it was not a foul if you call a push. Unless as someone else posted you used the 6 as a cue ball, then it should have been a foul. But... B. the TD does not know what he is doing and neither does the player, you can't call a loss on a game after you win it. Even if what you did was a foul, it needs to be called when it happens, not after he shoots. After he played the game as if nothing happened, you can't go back and say "you won but you fouled 4 shots ago so it does not count".
 
Last edited:
In any tournament ive played in you can push but if you strike an object ball that is not the lowest number ball on the table you did foul and it should have been ball in hand for your opponent.

That is a wrong rule, unless you just play in local bar rules tournament. By bar rules I mean the place has their own rules, not going by the BCA rules.

The whole point of the push is so you can move the cue ball when you can't see or don't have a reasonable shot at the lowest ball, so how can you have a rule you need to hit the lowest numbered ball in a push?

I've never played anywhere where there was a rule you can't hit another ball on a push.
 
Back
Top