Who taught you???

Fast Lenny

Faster Than You...
Silver Member
I was taught by Joe Sabia and we played at Classic Cue in Middletown NY. I managed that room monday-friday for a year because I had been playing for 6 months and just could not get enough of the game so I went to a poolroom to learn. Joe was one of the few players that played good there and he taught me the game, made me a player. He was also more then just a mentor in pool but a mentor in life, sadly he passed away a year ago before we could play one more game, I was due to go back to visit him in NY and spoke to him 2 days before he passed away, had to fly in early for the funeral. I would do anything for one more game of pool or one more game of poker with my mentor, best friend and closest thing I had to a father. RIP Joe, rack them up and I will be there to see you.

ShootingArts

Smorg is giving St Peter the 7!
Gold Member
Silver Member
mostly the hard way

Most of what I learned was the hard way. A little watching, mostly throwing my money on the table and having at it. I lost a lot when I started! :D :D :D

The closest thing I had to a mentor was Jessie Mills. I'm not sure how he spelled his first name and was only told recently that his last name was Mills, perhaps that is in error. He was just Jessie, that owned Shoppers Pool Hall last before it died. Jessie mostly minded his own business but would come from behind the counter to show absolute beginners how to hold a stick or make a bridge mostly in defense of his tables and cloth.