Chalk foul

donny mills

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Every now and then I'll go to grab the chalk and accidently flick it on the floor or across the table. What if you flick it at the cueball is it a foul? Does anyone know of a big set gambling or on accustats where this has happened?
 
I would call foul on it

A friend of mine was so nervous in a match that he grabbed the 2-ball instead of the chalk. Obviously a foul :-)
 
Don't know the answer, but I once saw JJ "debate" his way out of a foul in a gambling match when his towel fell on the cue ball while he was wiping down his cue stick.
 
In BCA and APA it is a foul. I would imagine that in tournament play it is a foul as well.
 
Interesting question, the BCA rules state this.


FOULS BY TOUCHING BALLS
It is a foul to strike, touch or in any way make contact with the cue ball in play or any object balls in play with anything (the body, clothing, chalk, me- mechanical bridge, cue shaft, etc.) except the cue tip (while attached to the cue shaft), which may contact the cue ball in the execution of a legal shot. Whenever a referee is presiding over a match, any object ball moved during a standard foul must be returned as closely as possible to its original position as judged by the referee, and the incoming player does not have the option of restoration. (Also see Rule 1.16.1)

The part of the rule that may be debatable is

"which may contact the cue ball in the execution of a legal shot."

You may not be executing a legal shot when this happens. But I would still say it is a foul.
 
US Open 2003

I was watching Neils playing in 2003 like a machine. Then, as he was playing Keith (lol), he's shooting the lights out when all of a sudden he knocks the chalk onto the table hitting a ball. (Can't remember if it was the cueball or not) Anyway, Keith jumps up "FOUL"! Keith runs out and Neils is shell shocked and can't make a ball. Keith comes back and wins the set. Neils loses next match and is out.

Hope my memory is correct on that situation.
 
I was watching Neils playing in 2003 like a machine. Then, as he was playing Keith (lol), he's shooting the lights out when all of a sudden he knocks the chalk onto the table hitting a ball. (Can't remember if it was the cueball or not) Anyway, Keith jumps up "FOUL"! Keith runs out and Neils is shell shocked and can't make a ball. Keith comes back and wins the set. Neils loses next match and is out.

Hope my memory is correct on that situation.

Hey, Rodney. What's "shakin?"
 
Interesting question, the BCA rules state this.


FOULS BY TOUCHING BALLS
It is a foul to strike, touch or in any way make contact with the cue ball in play or any object balls in play with anything (the body, clothing, chalk, me- mechanical bridge, cue shaft, etc.) except the cue tip (while attached to the cue shaft), which may contact the cue ball in the execution of a legal shot. Whenever a referee is presiding over a match, any object ball moved during a standard foul must be returned as closely as possible to its original position as judged by the referee, and the incoming player does not have the option of restoration. (Also see Rule 1.16.1)

The part of the rule that may be debatable is

"which may contact the cue ball in the execution of a legal shot."

You may not be executing a legal shot when this happens. But I would still say it is a foul.

Actually the rule doesn't leave room for debate, but the definitions (in parentheses) kind of cloud the reading.
Easier to understand if you eliminate them and read...
"It is a foul to strike, touch or in any way make contact with the cue ball in play or any object balls in play with anything except the cue tip, which may contact the cue ball in the execution of a legal shot."
The only question left is whether you're playing "cue ball fouls only" or "foul on all balls".
 
If it happened to your opponent would it be a foul?

Only if we are playing by the rules.

If we ignore that rule, then what other rules are not applicable?

1. Must keep one foot on the floor?
2. Marking the table ok?
3. Double hit ok?

Once you prostitue yourself and ignore one rule, where do you stop?
 
Every now and then I'll go to grab the chalk and accidently flick it on the floor or across the table. What if you flick it at the cueball is it a foul?

Actually donny, the correct answer is no. If you flick it at the cueball it is not a foul. If you flick it at the cue ball and HIT the cue ball, then that is a foul. If you are playing "foul on all balls" and you flick it at and HIT any ball, then that is a foul. This was a trick question :grin:!!!

Maniac
 
Foul under BCAPL and WSR

No question in BCAPL play. The definition of "Disturbed Ball",

"A ball that has been accidentally touched or moved by the player's body, clothing or equipment."

coupled with Rule 1.33.7(a),

"It is a foul if you disturb the cue ball."

For WSR, Cuebuddy quotes an obsolete rule (the pre-2008 WSR Rule 3.21). It is no longer applicable.

The current WSR application is WSR 6.6, which also leaves no room for doubt:

"It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot. The shooter is responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls."

If playing cue ball fouls only under WSR Regulation 20, Rule 6.6 still applies to the cue ball.

Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Head Referee
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net

Find the Official Rules of the BCA Pool League here:

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

* The contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Neither I nor any BCAPL referee make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.5.3 and 9.5.4 apply.
* No reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post unless specifically stated.
* There is no such thing as "BCA Rules", other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules". The BCA does not edit, nor is responsible for the content of, the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* Since 2004, there is no such thing as a "BCA Referee". The BCA no longer has any program to train, certify or sanction billiards referees or officials.
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.
 
Last edited:
Every now and then I'll go to grab the chalk and accidently flick it on the floor or across the table. What if you flick it at the cueball is it a foul? Does anyone know of a big set gambling or on accustats where this has happened?

It's happened in tournaments, more than once. FOUL! Also if you have BIH and touch a ball with the cue ball while setting it down, it's a foul. I have seen a player set the cue ball next to the side pocket and accidently knock it in with the side of his cue stick, while trying to move it around. FOUL!
 
... I have seen a player set the cue ball next to the side pocket and accidently knock it in with the side of his cue stick, while trying to move it around. FOUL!

Jay. Just curious. In a tournament recently I gave up ball in hand to a guy and handed him the cue ball. He set the cue ball on the table next to the side pocket and then intentionally stuffed it into the side pocket with his hand and then retreived it. Is that a foul?

I wondered out loud to the guy standing next to me if that was a foul. The guy I was shooting hit the ceiling and went crazy calling me all kind of names if I was to call that a foul on him. I just laughed it off and let him shoot since I'd never seen him before.
 
Jay. Just curious. In a tournament recently I gave up ball in hand to a guy and handed him the cue ball. He set the cue ball on the table next to the side pocket and then intentionally stuffed it into the side pocket with his hand and then retreived it. Is that a foul?

I wondered out loud to the guy standing next to me if that was a foul. The guy I was shooting hit the ceiling and went crazy calling me all kind of names if I was to call that a foul on him. I just laughed it off and let him shoot since I'd never seen him before.

I'm not sure why he did that. Sounds a little strange. Maybe he's just the nervous type. This particular foul is called differently by different officials. I called a foul when a player brushed the cue ball with the side of his cue and knocked it in the side pocket. He didn't like it either. He didn't call me any names though. That would have cost him the match. :wink:
 
Back
Top