I was talking to someone about the APA rule concerning the cue ball frozen to the next object ball in 9ball. He said it's a free shot and you can shoot away from the object ball because it's already touching and considered a good hit. Therefore, if the nine ball happens to be open you can turn around and just shoot the nine ball into a pocket and consider it a carom shot...
That's snooker, and even then you still have to play the ball on unless the preceding shot was a foul and left you unable to make a legal hit.
.