9ball 3 foul rule

jtarewicz15

Registered
I was shooting some cheap sets with a guy yesterday and the 3 foul came up. I was on 2 walking to the table with an open look at the 4ball. I pocketed the 4ball but got bad shape on the 5ball. I tried a wild shot and ended up scratching in the corner. My opponent says loss of game, I said no the 2 fouls reset as soon as I made a good hit on the 4ball. He claims the 2 fouls continue through your turn at the table, so I could have potted 3 more balls, scratched and still loss of game. I've never heard of this interpretation and never seen it in any professional or amatuer 9ball event. Has anyone ever heard of this?
 
:D

You were correct. Once you make a good hit, the three fouls in a row go away.

He was just making up his own rules as he went a long.:eek:


Worst rule ever in nine ball. This rule was made up to attract straight pool players into the game....LOL!
 
The REAL question is......WHO TOOK HOME THE CASH?

And, BTW...your version was the correct version of how it is to be played.
 
I was shooting some cheap sets with a guy yesterday and the 3 foul came up. I was on 2 walking to the table with an open look at the 4ball. I pocketed the 4ball but got bad shape on the 5ball. I tried a wild shot and ended up scratching in the corner. My opponent says loss of game, I said no the 2 fouls reset as soon as I made a good hit on the 4ball. He claims the 2 fouls continue through your turn at the table, so I could have potted 3 more balls, scratched and still loss of game. I've never heard of this interpretation and never seen it in any professional or amatuer 9ball event. Has anyone ever heard of this?

Sounds similar to a rule some APA player tried to tell me existed, the 3 foul rule did not count if you hit the ball but scratched :confused:

The guy was on 2 after being hooked and missing the ball totally, he got an open shot at a ball his next turn, shot the ball, and the cueball scratched. He was arguing that because he hit the ball it was not a 3rd foul despite the scratch.

Your opponent was just confused about the rule, probably heard it from another confused player, which is how all the bar rules get passed down.
 
Sounds similar to a rule some APA player tried to tell me existed, the 3 foul rule did not count if you hit the ball but scratched :confused:

The guy was on 2 after being hooked and missing the ball totally, he got an open shot at a ball his next turn, shot the ball, and the cueball scratched. He was arguing that because he hit the ball it was not a 3rd foul despite the scratch.

Your opponent was just confused about the rule, probably heard it from another confused player, which is how all the bar rules get passed down.

Didn't think there was a 3 foul rule in APA

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 
Now you tell me! My regular Wednesday practice partner three fouled me at 8-8 last Wednesday! It's a brutal way to go down.
 
lol it sucks people like this guy you played are either so ignorant of the rules
or so dishonest they'd try to make one up.
You gotta get people to sign an affidavit before playing anything these days.

On the subject of making assumptions, I'd never assume that 3-foul isn't in effect.
It's been part of the rules of texas express 9-ball since forever.
It's frustrating to be the victim of it but I wouldn't assume we're playing some watered down 9b.
 
CreeDo;4497231It's frustrating to be the victim of it but I wouldn't assume we're playing some watered down 9b.[/QUOTE said:
If they are playing Texas Express one-foul, there are already playing a watered down version of 9-ball.

2F9B RULEZ!!!

Aloha.
 
If they are playing Texas Express one-foul, there are already playing a watered down version of 9-ball.

2F9B RULEZ!!!

Aloha.

haha I could feel that one coming but I just let it happen.

Reminds me of one of my my favorite drummer jokes.
How's a drum solo like a sneeze? You know it's coming but there's nothing you can do about it.
 
Back
Top