Is this legal??

9andout

Gunnin' for a 3 pack!!
Silver Member
Was at a local tournament watching a match.
The shooter had a shot down the long rail. The object ball had to pass the side pocket.
Before the shot, he went to the side pocket and pushed the cushion points in a few times with his hand. I guess to make sure his shot hugged the rail better.
He did this a couple different times.
I never saw this done before. I don't think it should be allowed.
 
You're allowed to touch the table before, during, and after a shot. Heck, you can even pick balls up between shots.

He was within his rights.
 
Was at a local tournament watching a match.
The shooter had a shot down the long rail. The object ball had to pass the side pocket.
Before the shot, he went to the side pocket and pushed the cushion points in a few times with his hand. I guess to make sure his shot hugged the rail better.
He did this a couple different times.
I never saw this done before. I don't think it should be allowed.
That's a tuff call, depends on the reason why I'd guess.
 
I learned this from Danny D. many Moons ago. Just pull in the far point of the side pocket before shooting down the rail. You only have to do it once! That way there is less chance of the object ball catching the point on the way by. By the way, it's legal to do this before shooting.
Also not a bad idea to take a look down the rail first before shooting. I've seen many tables where the point sticks out so far there is no way you can shoot a ball past it down the rail. It happens because of poor or shoddy work by the table mechanic who put the cloth on.
 
Last edited:
You're allowed to touch the table before, during, and after a shot. Heck, you can even pick balls up between shots.

He was within his rights.

I don’t think so....in golf, if you tamper with the cup, disqualification.

In snooker, I actually saw a guy before he shot a frozen game ball, rub another ball
along the rail to make a groove in the nap.
...he was told by his opponent that he could get paid by stepping outside.
 
I guess it could be unsportsmanlike conduct, but I would think it’s no different from wiping stuff off the table before you shoot. If you can really push in the points of the side pocket so that they’re less likely to interfere with the shot, there’s something wrong with the table.
 
I have always just moved the balls away from the rail. I believe you can move them the thickness of the butt of your cue for free:embarrassed2:

That’s only the cue ball, buddy.....
...pt knows YMCA rules
 
I guess it could be unsportsmanlike conduct, but I would think it’s no different from wiping stuff off the table before you shoot. If you can really push in the points of the side pocket so that they’re less likely to interfere with the shot, there’s something wrong with the table.

That, i agree with 100%....but who knows with the tournament rules today.
 
Never have seen a written rule against this, whether BCA or whatever. Until someone produces such, I think it is moot, i.e., legal.

All the best,
WW
 
That’s only the cue ball, buddy.....
...pt knows YMCA rules

I grew up in the Midwest and played at our YMCA on tables made by Brunswick called the "YMCA Special". 6 nine footers, I wonder if YMCA still promotes the game?
 
I have always just moved the balls away from the rail. I believe you can move them the thickness of the butt of your cue for free:embarrassed2:

Spacies?!
I used to do that all the time. It was a great basement rule.

But seriously, I think it would depend on what rules you were playing by.
I'm an APA player. There used to be a rule about changing the "playing conditions",
that applied to moving bar tables, adjusting lighting positions, folding over a piece of
carpet, stuff like that. Under a rule like that, I suppose you could argue that by forcing
down the corners (or tits) of the side pocket you are altering the playing conditions.
I've seen it done, but no one quite knew what to do
 
I learned this from Danny D. many Moons ago. Just pull in the far point of the side pocket before shooting down the rail. You only have to do it once! That way there is less chance of the object ball catching the point on the way by. By the way, it's legal to do this before shooting.
Also not a bad idea to take a look down the rail first before shooting. I've seen many tables where the point sticks out so far there is no way you can shoot a ball past it down the rail. It happens because of poor or shoddy work by the table mechanic who put the cloth on.

Thanks for the tip. :D
 
Yes he made the shots.
Tables were not the greatest.
Just seemed odd. Never saw anybody mess with that before.
I'll have to file that move away.
No need for it on the home table! :D
 
Never have seen a written rule against this, whether BCA or whatever. Until someone produces such, I think it is moot, i.e., legal.

All the best,
WW

It is addressed in CSI BCAPL rules as follows:

1-2 Acceptance of Provided Equipment
1. Once your match begins, you accept all provided equipment as standard and legal. After a match has begun, only a referee or event official may declare the equipment defective or unsuitable for play. If the equipment is declared unsuitable for play, all games previously played on that equipment will be counted. (AR p. 78)
2. During a match, it is a foul if you attempt to modify provided equipment without the permission of a referee or event official. The foul occurs immediately upon the attempt, regardless of whether a stroke or shot is attempted. (AR p. 78)


1-2 Acceptance of Provided Equipment
In the event of sub-standard equipment, play might not be stopped or delayed unless conditions are severe. Particularly in tournament play, or other circumstances when time is limited, a match may be required to begin or continue on equipment such as a dirty or unlevel table. The final decision whether to start or continue play is solely at the judgment of the referee or Administrative Authority. If play continues, the Administrative Authority should make their best effort to correct the problem as soon as possible.
1. Situation: Player A, preparing to shoot a ball along the cushions and across the mouth of a side pocket, either pushes on the tip of the cushion or manipulates the cloth at the tip of the cushion at the side pocket.
Ruling: Foul, regardless of whether or not Player A attempts a shot.

AR are applied rules or examples and it is listed as a foul.
 
I don’t think so....in golf, if you tamper with the cup, disqualification.

In snooker, I actually saw a guy before he shot a frozen game ball, rub another ball
along the rail to make a groove in the nap.
...he was told by his opponent that he could get paid by stepping outside.

You're allowed to move loose impediments though, are you not?
 
Back
Top