LD vs regular shafts

MikeF

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
What's the approximate deflection % difference between a LD shaft & a regular shaft? I've been using a LD shaft for about 6 months now & the difference seems minimal.

Patrick Johnson

Fish of the Day
Silver Member
What's the approximate deflection % difference between a LD shaft & a regular shaft? I've been using a LD shaft for about 6 months now & the difference seems minimal.
Here's a quick-and-dirty calculation based on "pivot lengths".

A shaft's pivot length is the distance from the tip to pivot in order to compensate for that shaft's squirt (ignoring "swerve"). It's also the distance of CB travel at which it will go offline the same distance as the tip's offset from center CB (in this case the tip offset is assumed to be 9/16", or maximum). So with that (and a little trig) the shaft's squirt angle for the chosen tip offset can be calculated.

The "Squirt Grades" are my subjective grades - you might grade them differently.

For easier visualization, the last column shows how far the CB goes offline (without swerve) for a 30" shot (about average, I think).

pj
chgo

Squirt Angle-Percent Differences.JPG

Last edited:

BC21

https://www.playpoolbetter.com
Gold Member
Silver Member
I've noticed huge differences between certain cues. I have an old Valley Supreme bar cue that's about 14mm at the tip end. It deflects the cb like crazy, as does an old Helmstetter cue I've had since the late 80's. Compared to my Mezz LD shaft, these cues are terrible, causing a good 2+ degree difference on the cb's direction when shooting certain shots. Even if your regular shaft causes 1° more cb squirt/deflection than your LD shaft, it's enough to miss balls when using spin. But we played for years with cb squirt before LD shafts were a thing, so any shaft, LD or not, can be made to work for you very well if you play with it enough.

Patrick Johnson

Fish of the Day
Silver Member