Help with cue tip contact point.

straightline

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
That's definitely more aggressive then the usual tip shapers/abrasives I have run across. That tool is something I would only use to emboss with. Based on the picture it looks like it would shred a tip if rubbed instead of pressed. I have zero experience with one, so I'll bow to your knowledge of it.

If I ever see one, I'll take a closer look. I tend not to fix things that aren't broken so I don't know if I'd stray from the typical pick I use now though.

Thanks for posting the picture
Yeah that's the shaper side. It'll rough a tip from disc to frazzly thing a trough can handle. The tapper side is flat and quite useful.

Dan White

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
That's where the big death gun comes out. I tell people it's the nose of the tip and doesn't get scuffed much with the rotation method. Tapping it or the pik would work there but doesn't seem to be necessary.
You seem to be a tip wrangler of the first order - a real aficionado -- so let me ask you what I asked PJ. Why do you bother with any of this? I have never messed with my tip and I pretty much never miscue. Did you have miscue problems that caused you to get so all of this tip business or is there some other reason?

straightline

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
You seem to be a tip wrangler of the first order - a real aficionado -- so let me ask you what I asked PJ. Why do you bother with any of this? I have never messed with my tip and I pretty much never miscue. Did you have miscue problems that caused you to get so all of this tip business or is there some other reason?
I like a uniform layer of chalk on the tip; doesn't happen if the tip isn't uniformly scuffed.

FranCrimi

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Dan, what tip do you use and what hardness? Are you saying that you never have to scuff it or shape it? Do you play only 14.1 or other games as well?

straightline

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member