Has anybody ever heard of a rule that if your opponent lays his stick down on the table in the middle of a match and lets go of it totally with both hands without calling a time out that its a foul?
The World Standardized Rules are on-line at http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_summaryHas anybody ever heard of a rule that if your opponent lays his stick down on the table in the middle of a match and lets go of it totally with both hands without calling a time out that its a foul?
The World Standardized Rules are on-line at http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_summary
The particular foul in your question is covered at: http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_fouls#6.12 The foul only applies if you are using the stick to line up your shot. It's not a foul to rest the cue stick on the bed of the table while you are tying your shoes.
Whenever someone trots out what appears to be a bogus rule, ask them for a printed or on-line source. Usually the rule is from their Uncle Max who got it from Grandpa.
The rule -- which I don't agree with, but it's the rule -- was put in to thwart players who often plan shots from various angles which includes laying the stick on the table along various paths. In my view, the right way to combat that practice is enforce the anti-slow play rule. If the technique does not slow them down, then I see no problem with it.
Good explaination and thanks for posting the rule link Bob. I remember when they first wrote the rule...or maybe it was when I first heard of it...it was a foul to simply lay the cue (unattended) on the table period. I got called on it once when I put my cue on the table as my opponent was racking the balls and I was marking the score sheet. He called a referee over and the referee called a foul on me...ouch!
It has been refined to include the phrase 'when used to measure a shot' (or something to that effect). That better defines the rule and clearly gives a reason for the rule. As I understood the rule in my afore mentioned situation, it was intended to be enforced when 'used to measure a shot', but it was clearly written without that specification so the call was correct...by the letter of the rule not the intent of the rule. I'm glad they changed it.
As mentioned, it varies from league to league, house to house. I wish everyone would play be the same rules...it would all be so much easier.
L8R...Ken
Of course, it's difficult to protect yourself against a referee who may not have complete knowledge of the rules but AS A RULE, fouls that are issued outside of game play are supposed to be for a serious offense. If you feel you did nothing terribly out of the routine, you should argue as much as you can get away with.
I think this is considered a foul under BCA rules for the exact reason that GuyI-NJ stated. Not a fould in the APA, though. Don't know about the other leagues. I do recall Jim Helfert and Cornerman wondering about it during a TAR match (Alex-Shane Action Challenge III, I think) when Shane put his cue down and let go with both hands. Never really understood the need for this rule.
If any of you happened to watch the stream of the Pacquiao Open at Hard Times over the weekend, this situation came up at a rather important moment, but nothing was made of it. I was attending in person so I don't know if the commentators picked it up but in the Gomez-Dominguez hot seat match Roberto was on 2 fouls when he came to the table, laid his cue down along the line of a shot he was looking at, and let go of it.
I don't know what was in his head but he wasn't tying his shoe. He was definitely looking over the lay out and mulling his options at the time. Now that I think of it, IIRC this was the hill-hill game. Oscar did not call a foul and Gomez ends up winning the rack/match and goes on to win the event.
That Jim Helfert guy doesn't know jack!
I've played in tournaments that consider this a foul - they consider it an aiming device.