Cue tips test hardness with "Durometer"

Charlie Edwards

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
im not sure a durometer is the correct device for measuring pool cue tip hardness. im an engineer and work with plastics alot in my industry and the duramoter is a commonly used tool. the issue with measuring cue tips is they are layered and there are different densities throughout the tip. as stated above it is more practicle to measure multiple points and even then, the irrregularities can only distort the test results. another issue with this is we would have to know more about the quality control of the manufacturing facilities. this is where we would need samples from multiple batches/production runs.

im not trying to overcomplicate things or dismiss someones work its just my experiences taught me to overanalyze in the pursuit of logical problem solving. this aids me in my work to prevent failures in our products.

Moori weighs each tip and considers the heavy ones to be the hardest and grades them accordingly.

conetip

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have 2 durometers, one an A type, the other the D type.
I prefer the sharp point one, as the numbers from it are more consistent. The flat end one gives readings upto 99, which makes it a non value. 99 means the probe only penetrated the surface by .001 inch
The pointed one give readings like 60 to 80 something. The tip penetration is like .040 to .020 or so
Considering the tip picks that are on the market and other similar tools, I don't think the testing does any measurable damage to the tips.
Tips do change over time. I have been testing the tips of customers cues coming in for tip replacements.
I have found that almost all tips test in the 78 to 83 on the crown. But the sides show results closer to the original tip hardness.Often there is a 8 to 13 point difference.
This maybe why people like tips after the run in and why others like the way new tips play with a more consistent overall hardness.

JB Cases