Efren foul call - Was Ref correct?

it looked like a good hit to me. If he hit the 5 first the cueball would not have had the speed it had and maybe not the path although that is tough to call since the balls were so close together.
 
Last edited:
On these close hits, to go by where the balls end up is wrong. A very thin hit can sometines
just wiggle the first ball and the results of the shot will be the same as if the shooter missed
the ball. IMHO the ref has to just dicide which ball was hit first and not go by the spin or direction
of the balls.
 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jm8Y1SBzCd4#t=1283

Was this shot a foul? Timestamp is 21:23 if the link does not take you directly there. I think it was a good hit by where the CB went but I'm not certain.

Pool-playing experience and common sense should tell one the answer.
I love both Keith and Efren, so I am not biased toward either player but....
that was absolutely NOT a foul.

Look at the distance the 5 ball travels.
Had Efren hit the other ball first then the 5 ball would NOT have gone as far. Pool-playing experience
Moreover, how the hell could he have overcut the 5 ball as he did if he had not hit the 5 first. Common sense
Keith gives the impression that he knew damn well it wasn't a foul, he says, "...fine with me."

BAD CALL, NO TWO WAYS ABOUT IT.
 
Last edited:
Correct.

If the CB hit the 3 last, then the CB would have to initially travel on the tangent line of the 3 ball before the forward roll took over. But you don't see a hint of curve/deviation in the CB path after contact(s).[/QUOTE[/I] I agree, good hit.
 
If the ref didn't blow that call Efren probably would have won that match. Instead, he lost 9-8.

Can't really blame the ref though, my knee jerk reaction was to think it was a foul. I had to watch the replay about 5 times to change my mind.
i dont think the call would have changed anything keith had a good shot even without bih

easy out with all the balls wide open
 
Last edited:
He hit the wrong ball first...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jm8Y1SBzCd4#t=1283

Was this shot a foul? Timestamp is 21:23 if the link does not take you directly there. I think it was a good hit by where the CB went but I'm not certain.

He was using inside which is what throws the ball he hits at what seems to be more than 90 degrees, it's outside english relative to the ball he actually hits first.

so it was a foul. correct call by ref...

Jaden<----atleast imo, I wouldn't second guess someone who was there based on that grainy old film even if I thought it wasn't a foul...
 
Want to see some bad calls?

If you want to see a ref screw the pooch on some calls, check out this match with Johnny Archer and Nick Varner. Both calls were against Nick, both calls were obviously wrong based on instant replay, they were playing all ball fouls. Nick let the first one slide, the second he calls over Pat Flemming who was the tournament director. But all the while Nick acts like a professional, and maintained his composure to go on to win the match.
First call at about 17:25 second at 25:40
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TvVeMHymJc4
Chuck
 
If you want to see a ref screw the pooch on some calls, check out this match with Johnny Archer and Nick Varner. Both calls were against Nick, both calls were obviously wrong based on instant replay, they were playing all ball fouls. Nick let the first one slide, the second he calls over Pat Flemming who was the tournament director. But all the while Nick acts like a professional, and maintained his composure to go on to win the match.
First call at about 17:25 second at 25:40
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TvVeMHymJc4
Chuck

Wow!! That's just crazy....
 
If you want to see a ref screw the pooch on some calls, check out this match with Johnny Archer and Nick Varner. Both calls were against Nick, both calls were obviously wrong based on instant replay, they were playing all ball fouls. Nick let the first one slide, the second he calls over Pat Flemming who was the tournament director. But all the while Nick acts like a professional, and maintained his composure to go on to win the match.
First call at about 17:25 second at 25:40
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TvVeMHymJc4
Chuck
the ref must be blind lol
 
Johnny looks like he's going to the prom with that blue bow tie and cummerbund. Thank good they don't dress like that anymore or play all ball fouls.
 
Tough call.

But with the aid of youtube and multiple replays, I would have to say that it was NOT a foul. I base my opinion predominantly on the path and speed of the 5 ball. If Efren did hit the 5 first, then it looks like he cut the 5 at >90 degrees.

I would agree with this. If Efren hit the 5 first, it looks like he cut it at about 110 degrees. Now, I know Efren is a magician, but I wonder whether even he could pull that off. Efren said it was not a foul, and Keith certainly acted like he thought it was not a foul.
 
If you want to see a ref screw the pooch on some calls, check out this match with Johnny Archer and Nick Varner. Both calls were against Nick, both calls were obviously wrong based on instant replay, they were playing all ball fouls. Nick let the first one slide, the second he calls over Pat Flemming who was the tournament director. But all the while Nick acts like a professional, and maintained his composure to go on to win the match.
First call at about 17:25 second at 25:40
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TvVeMHymJc4
Chuck

I was at that tourney and Nick's shirt touched the ball on the second foul. Nick
tried to have the ref removed but Pat said no.
 
Good hit. If he had contacted the 5 ball first it would not have hit the long rail where it did.

I'm sure Efren has gotten over it by now.
 
Tough call.

But with the aid of youtube and multiple replays, I would have to say that it was NOT a foul. I base my opinion predominantly on the path and speed of the 5 ball. If Efren did hit the 5 first, then it looks like he cut the 5 at >90 degrees. Assuming that Efren wanted to pocket the 5 in the corner, it's pretty tough to overcut the shot by that amount, and especially at the speed at which the 5 traveled.

That's my opinion, too. NOT A FOUL based on path of the five.
 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jm8Y1SBzCd4#t=1283

Was this shot a foul? Timestamp is 21:23 if the link does not take you directly there. I think it was a good hit by where the CB went but I'm not certain.
It is impossible for us to tell from the video whether that was a good hit or not. One possibility was that the cue ball just barely feathered the five ball, hitting it just enough that it would wiggle back and forth in position and not move more than 1/10 millimeter, and then the cue ball hit the four and then the cue ball hit the five again (backwards). That's possible.

It's also possible that the simple thing happened: the cue ball barely missed the five on the way to the four and then came off the four to hit the five.

Those two possibilities result in the same or very nearly the same action on all three balls.

So, given that the shot may or may not have been a foul, how is the referee supposed to rule? The current rules cover the situation, but from my quick glance at the 1988 rule book, there is no guidance to the ref for a shot that may or may not have been a foul.
 
Judging from his relatively soft/medium stroke and the fact that the 5 shot directly into the rail at about 90 degrees suggests that it had to be a good hit
 
It is impossible for us to tell from the video whether that was a good hit or not. One possibility was that the cue ball just barely feathered the five ball, hitting it just enough that it would wiggle back and forth in position and not move more than 1/10 millimeter, and then the cue ball hit the four and then the cue ball hit the five again (backwards). That's possible.

It's also possible that the simple thing happened: the cue ball barely missed the five on the way to the four and then came off the four to hit the five.

Those two possibilities result in the same or very nearly the same action on all three balls.
Excellent point. I thought the same thing as I went down for bed last night. So despite the path of the 5, it is still possible that a foul could have occurred (if the 5 was hit twice).

So, given that the shot may or may not have been a foul, how is the referee supposed to rule? The current rules cover the situation, but from my quick glance at the 1988 rule book, there is no guidance to the ref for a shot that may or may not have been a foul.
So how do the current rules cover this situation?
 
Back
Top