Low deflection cues for a beginner?

infest

Banger
Silver Member
So I've played pool for a long time. I started when I was young but quit for a long time. Just started back playing recently. But I'm still learning when/how to use english. Would a low deflection shaft be beneficial for me or would I be wasting my money?

Diamond69

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I was in the same boat. Played for a long time and quit for 12 years or so as other parts of life took over.

I did invest in an shaft and found it hurt my game more than helped. But I played quite well when I was younger and found I was still quite good in a very short time once I got back into it.

So if you don't know much about english, etc, I'd say you were a B level player when you were playing. If that's the case, I'd say it may be worth the investment. But it's your money and depends on what you're looking for.

If you're looking to play good enough to play in tourneys, have at it. If you just want to be good in league play, don't spend the money.

randyg

www.randygpool.com
Silver Member
Just answer the question for yourself.

Do I use a lot of side spin?......LD could help.
Do I stay on Vertical center a lot?....Regular shaft is the answer.

randyg

44Runner

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
If you are just getting back into the game now might be the perfect time for an LD shaft. Sounds like right now you suck and are trying to get good. That is great, join the club. Instead of starting off with a normal shaft and then having to adjust at a later date when you upgrade, if you have the coin just get what you want now and start with it from square one on up. I see no reason why a crappy player can't buy themselves a nice cue if they want to devote some time to getting better. Best of luck working on your game. There isn't a single person here that couldn't get better or that doesn't want to.

Tramp Steamer

One Pocket enthusiast.
Silver Member