Played CJ Wiley last night...

Russ Chewning

Short Bus Russ - C player
Silver Member
For about 3 1/2 hours... I saw he was playing some of the locals 8 ball on the Diamond 9 footer at the Green Room in Temple, TX, and sat watching for a little while. These other fellows were mostly league players, and were getting trounced pretty bad.

I got in the rotation, and after a few games, the league guys got out. I was a bit shaky at first, and missed my opportunities to win a few games. I could tell CJ has nearly perfect CB control from everywhere, and it got him out in a lot of racks where he took very unconventional patterns. :D

I started playing a little better, and won a few games of 8 ball, but with CJ winning the majority. CJ asked if I wanted to play 9 ball, and I agreed. (Knowing I was jumping from the frying pan into the fire!)

He breaks, gets kicked in the side, and I run out. :D :D :D

I break, make a ball, and then push out on the 1. CJ attempts to play safe, the CB leaks out, giving me a shot. I run out. :D :D :D

I break, and make the 9 ball on the break. :D:D:D!!!

3-0 in favor of ShortBusRuss against a former 9 Ball World Champion. I am feeling somewhat guilty, as my runouts have been of the "nervous" type. Slightly overrunning/underrunning position.

I break in the 4th rack, making the 9 ball on the snap again!!!!!

Unfortunately, I got kicked in the corner and scratched. I spot up the 9, and CJ runs out.

CJ then procedes to win about 5 out of 7 (on average) of the rest of our games.

He then makes an observation about a certain part of my game (not fundamentals), and then tells me how he does it, and instructs me to change the way I hit a whole category of shots.

I get on the table and do what he says for about 30 minutes or so.

He immediately had me consistently pocketing cut shots that I generally feel nervous on. He told me something that he does, that he says the majority of the Filipinos do as well.