Maybe Shane was doing nothing wrong...maybe he was. Still undetermined.
Well, let's be more explicit about this point. The allegation is that he's racking the balls - WITHIN THE RULES - in such a way that he knows how to make balls. I don't think anyone is accusing him of violating any rules, because if he was they would just call a foul and that would be it.
But it's not a foul to rack the balls tight, just as it's not a foul to rack with some gaps. So what exactly is the accusation? That he's studied the break and they haven't? That you shouldn't study the break but he did?
Recommend other break and rack rules if you want, but don't claim Shane may be "doing something wrong" when he is not.