I was watching a match of an $5, double elimination, 8 ball tournament on bar boxes.
Player A (A friend of mine) was down to 3 stripes left on the table and his opponent (player B) was on the 8, but hooked behind a stripe. Player B shoots a 3 rail shot the ends up scratching. Player A then takes ball in hand and tries to run out the table. Not noticing that he has already won due to the scratch. He ends up missing and player B pots the 8 and goes to the TD to report the win. Afterwords Player B comes up to player A and tells him how he should have won because of the scratch on the 8, but because this was tournament play he wasn't going to give him any advice during the game.
I know it isn't right to say anything from the rail about an ongoing game but my question is, Should someone have let player A know the game was over before he took ball in hand and continued shooting?
Second question, Could player A have gone to the TD with this information and corrected the score board? or was it too late since he had taken ball in hand and continued play.
*Edit: Under the rules of the tournament a scratch on the 8 would be considered a loss.
Any input is appreciated.
Player A (A friend of mine) was down to 3 stripes left on the table and his opponent (player B) was on the 8, but hooked behind a stripe. Player B shoots a 3 rail shot the ends up scratching. Player A then takes ball in hand and tries to run out the table. Not noticing that he has already won due to the scratch. He ends up missing and player B pots the 8 and goes to the TD to report the win. Afterwords Player B comes up to player A and tells him how he should have won because of the scratch on the 8, but because this was tournament play he wasn't going to give him any advice during the game.
I know it isn't right to say anything from the rail about an ongoing game but my question is, Should someone have let player A know the game was over before he took ball in hand and continued shooting?
Second question, Could player A have gone to the TD with this information and corrected the score board? or was it too late since he had taken ball in hand and continued play.
*Edit: Under the rules of the tournament a scratch on the 8 would be considered a loss.
Any input is appreciated.
Last edited: